BILL SUMMARY 2nd Session of the 59th Legislature

Bill No.:	SB1803
Version:	Engrossed
Request Number:	
Author:	Rep. Johns
Date:	3/28/2024
Impact:	Highway and Bridge Designations
-	Honoring Individuals Not Killed
In	Performance of Duties: \$0 to State

Honoring Certain Individuals Killed In Performance of Duties: \$1,720 per Designation

Research Analysis

SB 1803 memorializes several highways and bridges across Oklahoma.

New designations include the:

- SSgt. Daniel Neil Fannin Memorial Bridge in Muskogee County;
- Sgt. Frank A. Bennett Memorial Bridge in Hughes County;
- Col. John L. Smith Medal of Honor Recipient Memorial Highway in Cleveland County;
- Patrolman Joseph Barlow Memorial Bridge in Tulsa County;
- Sgt. Meagan Burke Memorial Bridge in Oklahoma County;
- Senator Anthony M. Massad Memorial Highway in Tillman County;
- Jim Potter Memorial Bridge in Noble County;
- Nelson F. Carr Memorial Bridge in Washington County;
- Manual "Pop" and Mary Ruth Russell Memorial Highway in Bryan County;
- Spc. Jaykob Ray Pruitt Memorial Bridge in Bryan County;
- Captain Jeff Sewell Memorial Highway in Atoka County; and
- SP4 Donald P. Sloat Medal of Honor Recipient Memorial Highway in Wagoner County.

Prepared By: Keana Swadley

Fiscal Analysis

SB 1803 designates twelve (12) new memorial highway and bridge locations in Oklahoma. Title 69 O.S. § 1600 provides that the costs associated with signage related to the naming of highways and bridges is to be paid by the group sponsoring or requesting the sign, except in instances of naming a highway or bridge to honor members of the United States Armed Forces, Oklahoma Highway Patrol, peace officers, and first responders who were killed in the performance of their duties.

The Oklahoma Department of Transportation (ODOT) currently estimates a cost of one thousand seven hundred and twenty dollars (\$1,720.00) per location that meets these qualifications, with one sign needed at each end of the designated highway or bridge.

Prepared By: Jay St Clair, House Fiscal Staff

Other Considerations

None.

© 2024 Oklahoma House of Representatives, see Copyright Notice at <u>www.okhouse.gov</u>